Salt slow: stories
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Uniform Title:
Published:
New York : Flatiron Books, 2019.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First U.S. Edition.
Physical Desc:
195 pages ; 22 cm
Status:
SRL Adult Fiction
FIC ARM
Description

"From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link. In her electrifying debut, Julia Armfield explores women's experiences in contemporary society, mapped through their bodies. As urban dwellers' sleeps become disassociated from them, like Peter Pan's shadow, a city turns insomniac. A teenager entering puberty finds her body transforming in ways very different than her classmates'. As a popular band gathers momentum, the fangirls following their tour turn into something monstrous. After their parents remarry, two step-sisters, one a girl and one a wolf, develop a dangerously close bond. And in an apocalyptic landscape, a pregnant woman begins to realize that the creature in her belly is not what she expected. Blending elements of horror, science fiction, mythology, and feminism, salt slow is an utterly original collection of short stories that are sure to dazzle and shock, heralding the arrival of a daring new voice"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
SRL Adult Fiction
FIC ARM
On Shelf
May 4, 2022
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
EVLD Avon Public Library
FIC ARM
On Shelf
Oct 4, 2021
MCPLD Central Fiction
Fiction ARMFIELD Julia
On Shelf
Mar 8, 2022
TELL WPL Adult Fiction
FIC ARMFIELD
On Shelf
May 13, 2021
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Street Date:
1910
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250224774, 1250224772

Notes

General Note
Originally published in the United Kingdom in 2019 by Pan Macmillan.
Description
"From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link. In her electrifying debut, Julia Armfield explores women's experiences in contemporary society, mapped through their bodies. As urban dwellers' sleeps become disassociated from them, like Peter Pan's shadow, a city turns insomniac. A teenager entering puberty finds her body transforming in ways very different than her classmates'. As a popular band gathers momentum, the fangirls following their tour turn into something monstrous. After their parents remarry, two step-sisters, one a girl and one a wolf, develop a dangerously close bond. And in an apocalyptic landscape, a pregnant woman begins to realize that the creature in her belly is not what she expected. Blending elements of horror, science fiction, mythology, and feminism, salt slow is an utterly original collection of short stories that are sure to dazzle and shock, heralding the arrival of a daring new voice"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Armfield, J. (2019). Salt slow: stories. First U.S. Edition. New York: Flatiron Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Armfield, Julia. 2019. Salt Slow: Stories. New York: Flatiron Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Armfield, Julia, Salt Slow: Stories. New York: Flatiron Books, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Armfield, Julia. Salt Slow: Stories. First U.S. Edition. New York: Flatiron Books, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
3ffd3658-ca38-410d-bf1e-014d0de84cb5
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeMay 04, 2022 09:59:29 AM
Last File Modification TimeMay 04, 2022 09:59:54 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 27, 2022 08:36:14 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03351cam a22005178i 4500
0011079845925
003OCoLC
00520191025132121.0
008190726s2019    nyu           000 j eng  
010 |a 2019032750
019 |a 1121264121
020 |a 9781250224774|q (hardcover)
020 |a 1250224772|q (hardcover)
020 |z 9781250224767|q (ebook)
035 |a (OCoLC)1079845925|z (OCoLC)1121264121
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d UAP|d GK8|d FMG|d YDX|d E3V
042 |a pcc
049 |a E3VA
05000|a PR6101.R638|b A6 2019
08200|a 823/.92|2 23
1001 |a Armfield, Julia,|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2019044126|e author.
24010|a Short stories.|k Selections|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2019044128
24510|a Salt slow :|b stories /|c Julia Armfield.
250 |a First U.S. Edition.
263 |a 1910
264 1|a New York :|b Flatiron Books,|c 2019.
300 |a 195 pages ; 22 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
500 |a Originally published in the United Kingdom in 2019 by Pan Macmillan.
5050 |a Mantis -- The great awake -- The collectibles -- Formerly feral -- Stop your women's ears with wax -- Granite -- Smack -- Cassandra After -- Salt slow.
520 |a "From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link. In her electrifying debut, Julia Armfield explores women's experiences in contemporary society, mapped through their bodies. As urban dwellers' sleeps become disassociated from them, like Peter Pan's shadow, a city turns insomniac. A teenager entering puberty finds her body transforming in ways very different than her classmates'. As a popular band gathers momentum, the fangirls following their tour turn into something monstrous. After their parents remarry, two step-sisters, one a girl and one a wolf, develop a dangerously close bond. And in an apocalyptic landscape, a pregnant woman begins to realize that the creature in her belly is not what she expected. Blending elements of horror, science fiction, mythology, and feminism, salt slow is an utterly original collection of short stories that are sure to dazzle and shock, heralding the arrival of a daring new voice"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Women|v Fiction.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2010118138
650 0|a Self-realization in women|v Fiction.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2010112569
655 7|a Short stories.|2 lcgft|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026542
907 |a .b60345743
948 |a MARCIVE Overnight 10/2019
989 |1 .i126564413|b 1230003391957|d tlwf|g -|m |h 2|x 1|t 0|i 2|j 4|k 191007|n 05-13-2021 20:48|o -|a FIC ARMFIELD
989 |1 .i128115841|b 1090070541598|d mpmf|g -|m |h 7|x 2|t 1|i 6|j 4|k 191022|n 03-08-2022 22:00|o -|a Fiction ARMFIELD Julia
989 |1 .i128143630|b 1060006962543|d eva|g -|m |h 2|x 1|t 0|i 1|j 38|k 191025|n 10-04-2021 14:07|o -|a FIC ARM
989 |1 .i142111806|b 3482600231538|d srf|g -|m |h 2|x 0|t 2|i 0|j 18|k 220223|n 05-04-2022 15:56|o -|a FIC ARM
994 |a C0|b E3V
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2019.11
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.b in 2019.10
998 |e -|f eng|a ev|a eva|a mp|a mpm|a sr|a tl|a tlw