Grift sense

Book Cover
Average Rating
Ballantine Books,
Pub. Date:
1st Ballatine Books ed.
grift sense n 1: the instinct for spotting a scam 2: the knack for hustling a hustler 3: the ability to out-con a con 4: what Tony Valentine has in spades Meet Tony Valentine -- former cop, lifelong misanthrope, and sixtysomething freelance grifter-hunter. He's also something of a legend -- and not just among the retirees of Palm Harbor, Florida. There isn't a pit boss from the boardwalk of Atlantic City to Las Vegas' main drag who hasn't called on Valentine to dump the grifters out with the trash. He has never thought twice about seeing every one of them rot in jail. So much for his sentimental side. Then along comes his new job. Her name is Nola Briggs, a honey-blond blackjack dealer from Las Vegas who's behind bars without a prayer in the world. Unless you count Valentine -- and even he wouldn't bet on her innocence. Likewise Nick Nicocropolis, the owner of the Acropolis Casino & Resort. He's got Nola on camera playing crooked blackjack to a shark named Frank Fontaine. Now Frank has disappeared, leaving his alleged accomplice to take the heat. All Valentine's got to play with is Nola. She isn't saying a word. Valentine's plan: post a reasonable bail, turn her loose, and see how -- and where -- she runs. Shadowing a woman like Nola leads Valentine into a lethal world of greedy hustlers, bloodthirsty hit men, corrupt police, and a Las Vegas underworld that's taking him down with it. He counted on that; what he didn't count on is just how innocent Nola appears to be when her past starts showing. Or how many people want her out of the picture. Unfortunately neither Nola nor Valentine knows why. And it's going to be tough as hell for them to survive an enemy's vendetta when they don't know who their enemies are -- or where they're hiding. With its bullet-fast pace, triple-crossing plot twists, diamond-hard prose, winning characters, and neon-soaked setting, Grift sense marks the ascendancy of an author with a "been-there, done-that" attitude -- and a talent for the literary sucker punch in the tradition of Laurence Shames and Elmore Leonard.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID d6ea486f-8508-f350-d175-03364938f054
full_title grift sense
author swain james
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-01-31 01:52:09AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Swain, James.
author_display Swain, James
available_at_salida Salida Regional Library
detailed_location_salida SRL Adult Fiction Staff Retrieval
display_description Summary: Misanthropic ex-cop and freelance "grifter hunter" Tony Valentine is called in to find swindler Frank Fontaine, who vanished leaving Nola Briggs, a blackjack dealer caught on camera helping him cheat, to take all the heat, but an ingenious scheme to have Nola help him find Fontaine plunges Valentine into a deadly world of hustlers, corrupt cops, and bloodthirsty hit men.
format_category_salida Books
format_salida Book
id d6ea486f-8508-f350-d175-03364938f054
isbn 9780345463838
item_details ils:.b33992204|.i6745169x|SRL Adult Fiction Staff Retrieval|FIC SWA(Staff Retrieval)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||srfa||
itype_salida Book
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_salida FIC SWA(Staff Retrieval)
owning_library_salida Salida Regional Library
owning_location_salida Salida Regional Library
primary_isbn 9780345463838
publishDate 2003
record_details ils:.b33992204|Book|Books|1st Ballatine Books ed.|English|Ballantine Books,|2003.|310 pages ; 18 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_salida ils:.b33992204|.i6745169x|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
series Tony Valentine mysteries
series_with_volume Tony Valentine mysteries|bk. 1.
subject_facet Detective and mystery fiction, Fiction, Gamblers -- Fiction, Las Vegas (Nev.) -- Fiction, Organized crime -- Fiction, Thrillers (Fiction), Valentine, Tony (Fictitious character) -- Fiction
title_display Grift sense
title_full Grift sense / James Swain
title_short Grift sense
topic_facet Gamblers, Organized crime, Valentine, Tony (Fictitious character)